Instead of a Health Care Revolution, A Self Care Evolution!

Namaste`!

When Mother Theresa was asked if she would attend an antiwar rally, she responded, “No, but if you hold a peace rally, I will come.”

Here’s The REALLY BIG SECRET that hasn’t made it into general consciousness yet, and it’s used to manipulate the public at large. Whenever we engage in a position that is “anti”, we give energy to that which we oppose. Where thought goes, energy follows. The way to manifest the change you desire, is to energize the goal with sustained positive thought, creative visualization and right action. (I will write much more about this in a later column.)

When we learn how to be proactive on our own behalf, we develop the skills and the wisdom to be the best authority also on behalf of our children and for our elderly relations, if they are incapable of acting for themselves.

In short, the mission of this blog is a Self Care Evolution. Make no mistake, when I say “self care”… I am not referring to taking a bubble bath or getting a pedicure! Each Monday I’ll share with you information and resources that will assist you to unplug from negative programming and to develop positive habits for self-empowerment. You will find these methods simple to implement and requiring usually no more than that your mind be open to the possibility for change.

This week I want to tell you a little about the Silva Method originated by Jose`Silva and now being carried forward by one of his daughter’s, Laura Silva. My husband, David and I have been using some of the techniques for about a month now. We found that the simple techniques we learned in listening to the ten CD’s in Laura Silva’s program, called The Sylva Life System, have enhanced our ability to relax quickly, problem solve, stop pain and more. David was able to reclaim the typing skills of his college days by using the Silva method. My eyesight has improved. I’m now wearing an old pair of glasses that is three prescriptions back.

I love a company whose mission is to help you to help yourself so that we can help one another! Here’s the link Laura Silva sent to share with friends ==> http://www.silvalifesystem.com/tell-a-friend

It’s for a free eight-lesson set introducing some of the basics of Silva Mind Method. If you want to go on from there, David and I highly recommend the Sliva Life Method.

To make room for the new, you’ve got to empty out the old. Here’s this week’s suggestion for creating room for more positivity in your life.

You may not be ready to pull the plug on your television watching. Are you willing, for one week’s time to mute the commercials as they come on? Do observe them without sound and see if you can figure out what they’re selling and how they’re selling it. Awareness is power! I hope that after you’ve become aware of how companies seek to brainwash you through television commercials, you’ll make a habit of pushing the mute button on them.

I look forward to your comments. It’s easy to post them right here on the blog. If you want to comment anonymously, feel free to make up a nickname. Thank you for forwarding this column to your email list, as you deem appropriate. Readers will be able to subscribe and unsubscribe via the advance notice I send out with the blog link.

Shine your Light!

Joanna

You may contact me via email by using the form below, thanks.

Meditation Hut at Light Heart Retreat

10 comments

  1. hello
    i got a chuckle about turning off the commercial sound..we ALWAYS do that..we dont want to hear it!
    And we spend more time daily with the tv off..we enjoy sitting and reading things to each other from the paper or computer..I put on old folk music and he sleeps..we dont need alot of excess noise..im sitting here listening to the chihuahua snore away and that is a beautiful noise!Thank you for the great columns..i really enjoy them!

  2. Namaste`Peggy! I’m so glad to hear you are reading to each other, that is so sweet! That Light in the photo is for Big Hearted Bob. I love you both and your little dog too! I’m with you two on the folk music, beat the tv anyday!You might want to check out WERU Radio. There’s a link on the Blog. Every Sat. & Sun. morning they have the “coffee house” from 8 to 10 AM. It’s live streaming. Blessings for many more quiet interludes, Joanna

  3. Namaste Joanna! Thank you for your dedication to teaching others to help themselves. I have learned so much from you, and appreciate your energy to always share with others.

    At the time you told me about the Silva method, I was too bogged down in busy-ness to look at the web site. I’m familiar with Jose Silva, but couldn’t have told you much about his method. Anyway, in reading your blog today, I finally took the time to visit the site, and see how ironic it is that the one thing that kept me from checking out the site earlier–my lack of focus, shallow concentration, and being pulled in too many directions–were exactly the types of things the Silva method could help me with. Thank you!

    Again, another tool has come down the pike from the Dowsing Deva!

    A word on TV–I lived for about 14 years of my life without a TV, from about age 18 through 32. I learned so much in that period of time, and missed nothing. I developed my incredible love of reading, and spent much quality time with friends. During that time, I also developed good patterns that taught me that TV is not at all necessary, and should be used in the same way we go to the cinema to see movies. It should not be on in the background, and it should not be on for “noise,” as many people like to say. Many studies have shown a direct connection between attention span and TV viewing. People who watch a lot of TV have a harder time focusing on pretty much everything. Watching more than one or two programs a week on TV makes me feel sluggish and low on energy. I just can’t do it. Once you ween yourself from it, it’s very easy not to go back. And to think I earned a degree in journalism without a television! Yes, books, they still exist!!

    Thank you, Joanna!

  4. Namaste`Lauren! Thanks so much for expanding on the television theme. It’s the pink elephant in the living room. This is exactly the kind of conversation I’m hoping to elicit through this blog. I look forward to hearing about your experience with the Silva Method.
    I look forward to holding your next book in my hands! Blessings on all your creations! Joanna

  5. Namaste Joanna….I love your blog! It is a refreshing oasis in my day.

    The TV is mostly off in my house. This week, it’s the Olympics with the sound off during the numerous and annoying commercials. Then it is only on for 1/5 hours on Sunday – my husband watches; I tolerate it for his sake. We recently scaled back and only have a few channels. We don’t miss it at all. Life is more fun than watching TV!

    I’ll have to check out the Silva site. I did some Silva exercises many years ago and found it to be quite valuable!

    xxAllie

  6. Namaste`Allie! Thanks so much for your comments. It’s so true about the multitude of channels available.Just a few will do– When we were staying some place with cable we’d go through all the channels and I’d be disappointed that we couldn’t find one thing that we felt like watching. When tv went digital here I bought a box and a large aerial. We couldn’t get public tv and we would not be receiving the Olympics now as that network did not come in. We’d gone long periods without tv before. We feel such RELIEF to be free of it now, for good. We recently saw Avatar at a theater in Bangor. We’ll never go there again. We had to sit through 10 minutes or so of loud, dramatic National Guard promo. I don’t like the Pepsi promos either. The media does not miss a beat when there’s an opportunity to brainwash.

    Have fun with the Silva exercises! Love and blessings to you and Jonathan, back in my home state of NH! Joanna

    How do others feel about commercials having found their way into our movie theaters and onto Public TV?

  7. Just knowing that people like you and Dave are out there “doing the work” and spreading the word makes me hopeful that things are changing for the better.

  8. Namaste`Michael! Thanks so much! We look forward to hearing your talk on the future of money. I’ve posted the event on FaceBook. Becoming financially mature and sound is part of the Self Care Evolution too. We’re each doing our part and I can feel it’s all coming together. Love and blessings!

Leave a Reply

