The Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing: Agenda Disguised as Purpose

During a period when I was experiencing much self-doubt, a friend recommended what has become one of my favorite movies, Simon Birch. Simon, a young boy with health challenges that resulted in stunted growth, knows that God has a special purpose for him. That deep knowing makes all things bearable for Simon and he has much to bear. Simon rises above every new challenge with courage and a wicked sense of humor. When his time comes, Simon fulfills his special purpose, perfectly.

The following quote about purpose comes from Jesus speaks, Love without End by Glenda Green came to my attention twice this week. Two signs from Jeshua, who needs a third?

“Discovery of purpose is a continuous activity, and revelation of it is an ongoing process. We each live this process every day as we listen to life and shape our destiny. If there were any shortcuts to finding your purpose they would consist of establishing priorities, dedication, and satisfaction; and last but not least, joy. Wherever there is joy, there is purpose. The most fortunate people on earth are those who have found a calling that is bigger than they are, a reason for living that moves them and fills their lives with constant passion, aliveness, and growth. Your soul’s true purpose is to be the love that you are!”



I’ve noticed that when I’m engaged in an activity that’s in alignment with my soul’s purpose I have plenty of time…time is collapsed. I have plenty of vitality, good humor…everything I need to accomplish my task, is in good supply. The tasks I’m referring to are not lofty! They are made up of the stuff of my physical life, like preparing our five sets of books for tax time, spring cleaning our three cottages, writing copy for our websites, and guest manuals, advertising, blog posts .

The rare, grace-filled moments that my inner voice murmurs, this is what I’m here for, are brief, yet deeply nourishing. These are usually preceded by having to surrender to tasks which my ego thinks is beneath her! During the period when I am resisting the physical or mental work that needs to be done– when I am feeling put upon– I become easily overwhelmed. I am not a happy camper, to put it mildly. Only when I surrender and ask for help, is everything I need to accomplish the task, supplied.

An agenda is not a soul purpose. A check list and time line for achievements is not a soul purpose. It’s an agenda, and don’t we all have them?  “Want to hear God laugh? Tell Her your plans!” You can’t plan out your soul’s purpose. Your soul’s purpose was planned before your incarnation and stored in PDF format, safe from ego edits.

Agendas are everywhere! It’s a drain on all kinds of resources and reserves when we effort to recruit others to our personal agendas.  Our friends, family, the communities we participate in– they all wish us to be engaged with their agendas. And do government and big business want us dedicated to our soul’s purpose? NO! They want us to fuel an agenda whereby we become powerless– steeped in the financial, mental/emotional, and environmental debts of materialism.

“Whose business is it anyway?”, asks Byron Katie in her book  I Need your Love–Is this True? The question is a great litmus test for agendas. The trick is to use this test before you get hooked or you’ll be asking yourself, “What did I hope to gain by saying yes?”

Remember, wherever there is joy, there is purpose. I hope you’ll join me this week in bringing your awareness to this wolf in sheep’s clothing that’s been feeding  off the overwhelm many of us have found ourselves in.

Blessings for a happy acceptance of the challenges of your purpose. May all the tools you need to meet each task appear magically when you need them. And may you experience much joy, fun and satisfaction along the way,   Joanna

My purpose? Excavating the Truth. I've got a thing about having the right tool for the right job!

5 comments

  1. LOVE THE PHOTO GIRL !!!! Can you DIG IT???? Great article as always and just when I needed it…..Byron Katie is very good but you are also awesome…as you share the info from all sources and that is fabulous….Dowsing Deva Filtration system ….can we hook you up to the world. keep up the wonderful you !!! Marian

    1. Namaste` Marian~ Thanks for the laugh! As I have grandsons, I’m hearing, “Can you dig it? Yes, we can!” ala` Bob the Builder. Thanks for your kind words for me and my look alike, ha-ha!

      Love and blessings for your joyous abundance!

    1. Namaste` Jackie~ Thanks for the comment. I responded on the site: Namaste` Jackie~ That is a really good question! I can think of things that I would do first for those close to me, like the grandkids and my parents. Then I thought more on it, those things that I do for them always bring me joy. Thanks for being the Love that you Are! Love and Blessings for your bounteous creativity, Joanna

      What have you got cooking for Spring? You were working on your panels again last we spoke. How is that going? Have you been to visit your mother?

      L&B’s, Joanna

  2. Namaste` Jackie~ That is a really good question! I can think of things that I would do first for those close to me, like the grandkids and my parents. Then I thought more on it, those things that I do for them always bring me joy. Thanks for being the Love that you Are! Love and Blessings for your bounteous creativity, Joanna

Leave a Reply

