Blessing for the Children

This morning at breakfast my husband, David, myself, and a friend were talking about the upcoming end of the Mayan calendar, December 21st.

I said, “I have the feeling something is going to happen that will bring people to their knees and will open their hearts.”

Driving home from Bangor David drew my attention to the sky. The west was filled with beams of light in the shape of an angel and the sun shown through the clouds in the shape of a halo. It reminded of a drawing I’d seen of September 11th with the souls being lifted up into the arms of Jesus.

Then I turned on the radio and we heard the breaking news of a shooting at an elementary school in Newtown, Connecticut.

How best to respond to such horrific loss?  First to let our hearts break open wide and the feelings flow and then to get down on our knees and pray. I did so, kneeling in the standing stone circle at our home, Light Heart Retreat:

Beloved Jesus the Christ,

I know you have the little ones and their teacher in your care. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Please bless their families, their friends, their community to be free of the imprint of this terrible trauma.

Let all who grieve, mourn freely, deeply, and completely.

Please help us keep our hearts open. Please keep us out of fear.

Let our righteous anger be directed to purpose that results in positive change

to keep our children safe from harm,

that will raise our children to be respectful of all life.

Please help us forgive, as you taught us, “for they know not what they do.”

Please help us create a society that honors life over the liberty to bear arms.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

So be it. And so it is.

A Blessing for your Children

Last night a friend and guest of Light Heart Retreat emailed me asking for help with her teenage daughter who is causing her concern. I said a blessing for the child and suggested that her mother say this or something along these lines through out the day:

God please bless and energize my child  to be in balance and harmony, body, mind, soul and spirit.

Please bless my child to make healthy choices.

Please protect my child from harm.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Amen.

This is a time for prayer, for mourning, for quiet contemplation of what, why and how such a thing could happen in a classroom of kindergarten children.

The time to put our prayers and what we discovered in our quiet contemplation into action is for later.

The standing stone circle at Light Heart Retreat has been a place of solace, of guidance, of healing for ourselves and guests. Some have found the power of healing in a photo of the stones. I share this photo taken yesterday with you in the hope that you may be blessed with the strength, courage, inner calm and compassion to keep your heart open in these very challenging times we live in.

100_9925
